Makhanlal Chaturvedi | An Indian Soul

- Advertisement -

His Life: A Pen Warrior

  • Year 1889 – Born in Madhya Pradesh.
  • Year 1955 – Won the Sahitya Akademi Award.
  • Year 1959 – Got the ‘D. Lit.’ honorary by the Sagar University.
  • Year 1963 – Received the Padma Bhushan Award.
  • Year 1968 – Left for his heavenly abode.

“रहे साक्षी लहरता सिंधु मेरा, कि भारत हो धरा का बिंदु मेरा”

Makhanlal Chaturvedi was an acclaimed playwright, poet, writer, journalist and freedom fighter. Also known as Panditji, he was an important figure of the Neo-romanticism era in Hindi literature. He was the first writer to receive the Sahitya Akademi Award for his work Him Taringini.


Makhanlal Chaturvedi was born on April 4, 1889 in a Bavarian village in Hoshangabad District in Madhya Pradesh.

Personal Life

- Advertisement -

Panditji had a modest upbringing and he became a school teacher when he was just 16. After 1910, he became the editor of the nationalist journals like Prabha, Pratap and Karmaveer. He was repeatedly imprisoned during the British period for his involvement in anti government activities. He also participated in the Non Cooperation Movement and Quit India Movement. After the Indian independence, he held back from seeking a position in the government, but continued to speak and write against the social evils and also in support of an exploitation free and equitable society.

Career Journey

He presided the All India Hindi Sahitya Sammelan, which was held at Hardar in 1943. His true Indian spirit filled hope and anticipation in the masses. He profoundly portrays the common man’s difficulty in his works such as Amar Rashtra, Him Kirtini, Pushp Ki Abhilaasa, Him Tarangini and Kaisa Chhand Banaa Deti Hei. With a notable contribution to the Hindi literature, he also earned an honorary D. Lit. from the Sagar University and he was the first individual to win the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award of the year 1955.

Some of the notable poems written by Panditji are Amar Rashtra, Aaj Nayan Ke Bangle Mein, Uss Prabhat Tu Baat Na Mane, Bhai Chero Nahi Mujhe, Gaali Mein Garima Ghol-Ghol, Kirno Ki Shaala Bandh Ho Gayi Chup-Chup, Kunj Kutire Yamuna Teere, Madhur-Madhur Kuch Ga Do Malik, Sandhya Ke Bas Do Bol Suhane Lagte Hai, Anjali Ke Fool Gire Jate Hai and Is Tarah Dhakkan Lagaya Raat Ne.

Many universities have been built and awards are established to honor his limitless contributions. The Madhya Pradesh Sahitya Akademi, which is known as the Madhya Pradesh Cultural Council also organizes the annual Makhanlal Chaturvedi Samaroh that grants the Makhanlal Chaturvedi Puraskar to the deserving candidates for excellence in poetry in any Indian language and this prestigious award was established in 1987, nineteen years after the death of Panditji. The Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita University, established in the year 1991, situated in Bhopal was the first of its kind in the whole of Asia and it was named after him to honor his involvement in the freedom struggle through his journalism and writings.

- Advertisement -

The Department of Post and Telegraph has also brought out a memorial postage stamp of Pandit Makhanlal Chaturvedi to honor this brave son of India and for all his prestigious works. This stamp was issued on the 4th of April in 1977 to mark his 88th birth anniversary.

Later Life

Makhanlal Chaturvedi passed away on January 30, 1968 at the age of 79.

Awards and Recognition

Makhanlal Chaturvedi won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his great work Him Tarangini in 1955 and he was the first person to be awarded this award in the Hindi Literature. He also received the honorary degree of D. Lit. from the Sagar University in the year 1959. The Government of India bestowed upon him the Padma Bhushan Award, the third highest civilian award in the Republic of India in the year 1963.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related posts

Latest posts

AIR 9 rank holder Apala Mishra clears UPSC CSE 2020 with highest marks in interview

Delhi based dental surgeon, Apala Mishra not only cleared the exam with an excellent rank but also scored the highest marks i.e. 215 in...

Bihar Boy Shubham Kumar bags the 1st Rank in UPSC, made his village proud

Shubham Kumar, native of a small village (Kumari pur), district 'Kaithar ' of Bihar , bags the first position in Upse examination at a...

The historic shift from Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award

In honor of hockey wizard, Major Dhyan Chand PM Narendra Modi decided to rechristened the award name and respect the sentiments of millions of...